San Marino Overview

According to abbreviationfinder, San Marino is the capital of the republic of the same name on the Apennine Peninsula, (2018) 4,000 residents.

The seat of government of the small state and the town hall are located in the Palazzo Pubblico; the Palazzo Pergami Belluzzi houses the National Museum and the Palazzo Valloni (1477; expanded in the 17th century) the National Library. The economy is based on tourism and retail. San Marino is connected to the lower-lying village of Borgo Maggiore by a cable car; a road leads to Rimini (Italy).

The city, with narrow, steep streets and stairs partly carved into the rock, has a medieval character, which is mostly preserved in the mostly renovated buildings. The city’s landmarks are the three fortress towers on Monte Titano. In the church of San Francesco (begun in 1361; changed in the 18th century) there are paintings by Guercino and others. The city ​​with Monte Titano has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2008.


According to the constitution of October 8, 1600 (laid down for the first time as part of the Leges Statutae and changed several times since) San Marino is a sovereign parliamentary republic. Legislation is incumbent on the Grand Council and General Council (Consiglio Grande e Generale; 60 to 5 years elected MPs according to a modified proportional representation system with a majority bonus and a blocking clause of a maximum of 3.5%; active and passive right to vote from the age of 18). The latter elects the Council of State (Congresso di Stato; 10 members) as the executive for a period of five years, as well as the two “governing captains” (Capitani Reggenti) for a period of six months Twelve (Consiglio dei XII; constitutional organ) act.

National symbols

The national flag dates from the time of the French Revolution, but was not officially introduced until April 6, 1862. It is horizontally divided white over blue and has the coat of arms in the middle. The colors are officially interpreted as follows: white means peace and symbolizes the clouds and snow on the mountains, blue stands for freedom and the sky.

The coat of arms probably dates from the 14th century. In the gold-framed oval shield it shows three silver towers on a blue background, which stand on three green mountains; a stylized representation of Monte Titano and its defense towers. Instead of a weather vane, the towers are equipped with an ostrich feather. On the shield is a gold, red-lined crown as a symbol of the country’s sovereignty; under the sign a ribbon with the inscription “Libertas” (freedom); it holds together the oak and laurel branches surrounding the shield.

The national holiday on September 3rd commemorates the legendary foundation by St. Marinus in the 4th century.


The structure of the court consists of three stages: In civil and criminal matters, law commissioners, one appellate judge each and, in some cases, the Council of Twelve, decide in the last instance. Judges usually have a foreign nationality. The legal system differs from the Italian one and has a strong tradition. In practice, in addition to national laws, common law is still important.


The small state is divided into 9 municipal districts (Castelli).


created by party merger). AP and UPR form the alliance Repubblica Futura (RF).


The Confederazione Democratica Lavoratori Sammarinesi (CDLS) and Confederazione Sammarinese del Lavoro (CSDL) belong to the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC) and the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC).


There is ten years of compulsory schooling from the age of 6. Compulsory schooling includes 5 years of primary school, 3 years of lower secondary and 2 years of upper secondary. After a further 3 years at this type of school, the university entrance qualification can be acquired. Alternatively, two-year vocational training can be completed in a full-time school. Since 1987 there has been a university that also takes on adult education tasks. There is also the International Academy of Sciences (AIS, founded 1985).


Italian media are widespread in San Marino, but there are 3 daily newspapers of their own: »San Marino Oggi«, »La Tribuna Sammarinese« and »Nuovo Corriere di Informazione Sammarinese«.

The state broadcaster San Marino RTV broadcasts a radio and a television program; there is also a private radio station, “Radio Titano”. Italian radio and television channels can also be received.


There is no compulsory military service, but there is a defense obligation for citizens from 16 to 55 years of age in the event of an attack on the national territory. Under a bilateral agreement, Italy has committed itself to defending San Marino in the event of a conflict.

San Marino Overview