Lausanne, Switzerland

According to hyperrestaurant, Lausanne [lo Zan], is the capital of Canton Vaud, Switzerland, extends (m above the sea level 374) to about 930 m above sea level, (2018) 139 100 residents fourth largest city in a number of hills on the north bank of Lake Geneva from the lake Switzerland; 424,500 people live in the urban agglomeration.

Lausanne is the seat of the Federal Supreme Court (since 1874), the seat of the International Olympic Committee (since 1915) and the International Sports Court (since 1984). It has a university (founded in 1537, academy until 1890; new center in Dorigny with European research center), the Federal Institute of Technology (French École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne [EPFL], founded 1853, 1869–1969 associated with the university; today in Ecublens), a cantonal art college, a conservatory, a hotel management school and others Technical schools as well as many private schools; Institute for the Blind; Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research (in Epalinges) and for Comparative Law. There are also several museums including for archeology, photography, history, cantonal art, contemporary art (Fondation Asher Edelman), Collection de l’art brut, Pipe Museum, Olympic Museum; Freshwater aquarium Aquatis (opened in 2017).

Lausanne is a trade, trade fair (Comptoir Suisse) and congress city (Palais de Beaulieu), an industrial location with electronics, metal, food, tobacco and graphic companies as well as a center of tourism. A metro runs between the center (Grand-Pont) and the lake (Ouchy), and since 1991 it has also run to the Dorigny university center and Renens.


The early Gothic Notre-Dame Cathedral was built in 1173–1275 on top of previous buildings, especially at the Apostle’s gate (“Portail peint”, first half of the 13th century) and at the late-Gothic west portal with rich sculptural decorations; in the south transept there is a large rose (um 1260). Saint-François (late 13th to 15th centuries), the church of the former Franciscan monastery, was renovated in the 19th century; Saint-Laurent was built in 1716–19, the facade in 1762–63. The Saint-Maire castle, a former fortified bishopric, was begun around 1397.

Further sights are the Old Academy (1579–87), the town hall (15th – 16th centuries, new building 1673–75), the Old Spital (today a grammar school, 1766–71). The Palais de Rumine (1898–1906) houses a library and several museums. There are also numerous other palaces and town houses from the 18th and 19th centuries as well as buildings in the design language of Art Nouveau and Modernism. 1988–93 the postmodern new building for the Olympic Museum was built in Ouchy, on the shores of Lake Geneva.


The settlement of Lousonna, located on a mountain spur, emerged from a pre-Roman forerunner . Around 600 the bishop of Aventicum (now Avenches) moved his seat here. The settlement was included in the wall ring of the lower town in 1224. From 1224 until the 16th century, the Bishop of Lausanne was confronted with the Dukes of Savoy’s striving for territorial power. Emperor Siegmund confirmed the privileges as an imperial city in 1434. From 1536–1798 Lausanne was under the rule of Bern. After the French conquest, Lausanne became the capital of the canton of Léman in 1798 and of the canton of Vaud in 1803.

The Treaty of Lausanne of October 18, 1912 ended the Italo-Turkish War of 1911/12; the Ottoman Empire ceded its last African possessions (Cyrenaica, Tripoli) to Italy, which in fact kept the islands of the Dodecanese and Rhodes that it occupied.

The Treaty of Lausanne of July 24, 1923 between Great Britain, France, Italy, Japan, Greece, Romania and Yugoslavia on the one hand and Republican Turkey on the other, revised the Peace of Sèvres (1920); He established the Turkish-Greek border in Thrace and the Aegean Sea (resettlement convention), gave the islands of the Dodecanese de jure to Italy, recognized the annexation of Cyprus by Great Britain and settled the issue of the straits.

As a result of the Lausanne Conference (June 16 – July 9, 1932), Germany and the victorious powers of the First World War (above all France and Great Britain) agreed in the Treaty of Lausanne on July 9, 1932 to replace the German reparation debt with a settlement sum of 3 billion Reichsmarks (as bonds).

World Heritage Sites (K) and World Natural Heritage (N)

  • Benedictine monastery Sankt Gallen (K; 1983)
  • Benedictine convent Sankt Johann in Müstair (Münster) (K; 1983)
  • Old town of Bern (K; 1983)
  • The three castles of Bellinzona (K; 2000)
  • Alpine region Jungfrau with Eiger and Mönch, Aletsch Glacier and Bietschhorn (N; 2001, extended in 2007)
  • Monte San Giorgio (N; 2003)
  • Vineyard terraces in Lavaux (K; 2007)
  • Rhaetian Railway in the Albula / Bernina cultural landscape (K; 2008)
  • Swiss Tectonic Arena Sardona (N; 2008)
  • Urban landscape of the watch industry La Chaux-de-Fonds and Le Locle (K; 2009)
  • Prehistoric pile dwellings around the Alps (K; 2011)
  • Architectural work by Le Corbusier (K; 2016)

Lausanne, Switzerland